Dirty Carrots

A lovely bunch of dirty…carrots, and a granary Boule from my local farm shop. There is something satisfying about buying dirty veg…a sense of connecting with nature! We buy washed and prepared carrots from the supermarkets all nicely packaged but, I often feel disappointed by the taste.

So I decided to cook the first stew of the season and went to my farm shop for some extras. There sitting in the basket were a lovely bunch of dirty carrots with their tops on…lovely! I was happy to pay the £1.55 for the bunch even though I had to wash them myself….funny that! I felt I was getting more for my money and the taste confirmed it; full of earthy flavour and colour. My stew was tasty and a slice of my Boule topped it off perfectly!

image

Leave a Reply

